Get pdf version of the Match Schedule

For the first time ever, Poland will have the honour of hosting the FIVB’s premier volleyball event – the FIVB Men’s World Championship Poland 2014, which will take place from August 30 to September 21 with matches being held across six cities: Katowice, Łódź, Wrocław, Gdańsk, Bydgoszcz and Kraków, while Warszaw will host the opening match in the 58,000 capacity National Stadium.

Poland will take on Serbia in this dream encounter, which was confirmed following the spectacular Drawing of Lots at the Warsaw’s Palace of Culture and Science on January 27

The world’s best 24 teams will be in Poland following a qualifying process, which started in 2012, involved a record number of 279 countries and concludes in July 2014.

The 24 countries competing in the FIVB Men’s World Championship Poland 2014 are split according to the following vacancies: South America (three), Asia (four), Europe (nine including hosts Poland), Africa (three) and NORCECA (five).

The first FIVB Volleyball Men's World Championships were organised in 1949 and in the event’s long history, the former USSR has seen the most success with six titles. However, the more recent editions of the FIVB Men’s World Championship have been dominated by Brazil who have won the tournament three times running in 2002, 2006, and the last edition in Italy in 2010.

First Round: August 30-September 7

Group A in Wroclaw

Group B in Katowice

Group C in Gdansk

Group D in Krakow

Second Round: September 10-14

Group E in Lodz and Bydgoszck

Group F in Katowice and Wroclaw

Third round - September 16-18

Group G in Katowice and Lodz

Fifth Place Play-off, Semifinals, Finals: September 20-21
In Katowice and Lodz


All the News